This will be my first year applying to the Clarion writing workshops (West and UCSD). On January 1 I submitted my application for Clarion West, which lets me choose just one story to send. I chose to submit a near-future science fiction set in Russia. UCSD allows for submitting two short stories, so I think it’d be good to show my range of interests and styles by sending one near-future hard science fiction and one secondary world fantasy, rather than two stories that are similar in genre and themes. I want to get these two stories done before the extra charge on the submission fee (February 15), but am currently grappling with a bad combination of anxiety, self-doubt and writer’s block. Hopefully I’ll pull through and get ’em done.

Leave a Reply

