I’m starting to think that, without even opening the email, any response to a short story submission beginning with “Thank you for…” means a rejection. And any beginning with “Congratulations!” obviously means an acceptance. I’ve accumulated enough rejections (and will get many more down the line, no doubt) to be sure of this. -nods-

Although…a response I did get started out what I thought would be a rejection, but read further down to find out it’s an acceptance. It said “unfortunately we’re sorry that your piece has been…accepted!” I thought that was amusing and unusual. I had to double check to make sure it really was an acceptance.

Leave a Reply

