I submitted “A Study In Twins” to the Species: Foxes anthology, which was declined after 8 days:

“Hello,

Thank you again so much for submitting to SPECIES: Foxes. We certainly got a large number of submissions this year, moreso than our usual volume. That has made this volume exceptionally difficult to make decisions, and even stories that were particularly strong were not accepted due to fit and theme. I am sorry to inform you that we have decided to decline your work at this time. It was truly not an easy decision, and we encourage you to submit to future anthologies.

NOTE: I loved this story so much! Just wasn’t a fit for S:F. But definitely one of the best pieces I’ve read from you.
Howl”
Furry anthologies are nowhere near as selective as markets and magazines for speculative fiction, but rejection can still happen. I’m consoled by the fact that my submission was declined only because it was not a fit for the anthology, not because of the poor quality of the story. I suppose it wasn’t “foxy” enough. Now I need to figure out where I can send this story next, which will be somewhat of a challenge considering that it carved in more of a niche than my other stories.
Leave a Reply

